Planning & Development

May is Building Safety Month

Building Safety Month Erie

The Planning & Development Department consists of three main divisions: Building, Engineering and Planning.

Building Division

The Building Division is a one-stop shop for individuals planning improvements to their properties. The division reviews construction plans, issues permits, performs inspections, and enforces ordinances that ensure safe buildings and a healthy environment. It also manages the licensing of contractors and trades.

Planning Division

The Planning Division is responsible for reviewing land use applications for Development Activities such as annexation, zoning, plats and site plans and also is responsible for the administration of the Town of Erie Comprehensive Plan (PDF) and  Unified Development Code.